European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 2019: Winners announced

websiteThe winners of the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 2019 were announced by the European Commission and Europa Nostra, as 25 laureates from 16 countries have been recognised for their impressive accomplishments in conservation, research, dedicated service, and education, training and awareness-raising.

Europa Nostra writes:

Europa Nostra Awards will also be given to two remarkable heritage achievements from European countries not taking part in the EU Creative Europe programme, namely Switzerland and Turkey. Citizens from around Europe and the rest of the world can now vote online for the Public Choice Award and mobilise support for the winning achievement(s) from their own or another European country.

Among those dedicated individuals and exemplary European heritage initiatives that were awarded in 2019 are: the sensitive restoration of the Chapel of the Holy Shroud in Turin, an iconic site of religious heritage which was destroyed by fire in 1997 and which has now been reopened to the public; the development of a digital archive of the Roma, an internationally accessible space that would make Romani cultures and histories visible as well as respond to stereotypes with a counter-history told by Roma themselves; the dedication of one of the oldest heritage NGOs in Europe which has committed itself to heritage protection in Norway for over 175 years; and a training programme for displaced, skilled heritage specialists from Syria, run by a German institute in Istanbul, which serves as a powerful example for countries in Europe and beyond.

The European Commission and Europa Nostra have also announced a European Heritage Award to honour the Paris Fire Brigade. Together with the police forces and conservation experts, the city’s firefighters bravely and skilfully battled the flames which ravaged the Notre Dame cathedral on the night of 15 April and successfully protected the main structure of the monument from complete destruction, as well as the priceless artefacts within…

Independent Juries of heritage experts from across Europe examined a total of 149 applications, submitted by organisations and individuals from 34 European countries, and selected the winners.

The laureates will be celebrated at the European Heritage Awards Ceremony, co-hosted by European Commissioner Tibor Navracsics and Maestro Plácido Domingo, and organised under the high patronage of the President of the French Republic, Emmanuel Macron, on the evening of 29 October in Paris.

Seven Grand Prix laureates (each of whom will receive €10,000) and the Public Choice Award winner, chosen from among this year’s winning projects, will be announced during the Ceremony. The Ceremony will be attended by an audience of high-level officials from EU Institutions and Member States, leading representatives of heritage organisations and dedicated professionals and supporters from all over Europe.

The winners will present their heritage accomplishments at the Excellence Fair on 28 October. They will also contribute to various other events of the European Heritage Congress, to take place from 27-30 October 2019.

The Call for Entries for the 2020 edition of the Awards will be published in June 2019 on the dedicated website.

2019 Award Winners (listed alphabetically by country)

Category Conservation

  • Castle of Montreuil Bonnin, France
  • Fortified Settlement of Mutso, Georgia
  • Chapel of the Holy Shroud, Turin, Italy
  • Cathedral of Saint Bavo, Haarlem, the Netherlands
  • The Queen Louise Adit Complex, Zabrze, Poland
  • Pavilion for the Presentation of Arcaheological Remains, Celje, Slovenia
  • Lithica Quarry of s’Hostal, Menorca, Spain
  • Oratory of the Partal Palace in the Alhambra, Granada, Spain
  • The Portal of Glory, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
  • Medieval Tithe Barn, Ingatorp, Sweden
  • Yr Ysgwrn, Trawsfynydd, Wales, United Kingdom

Category Research

  • Solak1: a Model of Predictive Archaeology, Armenia/Italy
  • VERONA: Van Eyck Research in OpeN Access, Belgium
  • RomArchive-Digital Archive of the Roma, Germany

Category Dedicated Service

  • VVIA – Flemish Association for Industrial Archaeology, Belgium
  • Fortidsminneforeningen – National Trust of Norway, Norway

Category Education, Training and Awareness-Raising

  • TUMO Center for Creative Technologies, Yerevan, Armenia
  • History Radar 1938, Vienna, Austria
  • Betina Museum of Wooden Shipbuilding, Croatia
  • Monument Europe, Germany
  • Stewards of Cultural Heritage, Berlin, Germany
  • Greek Paths of Culture, Athens, Greece
  • Commonlands: Cultural Community Mapping in Alpine Areas, Parco Nazionale Val Grande, Italy
  • Le Dimore del Quartetto, Milan, Italy
  • A place at the Royal Table, Warsaw, Poland

A Europa Nostra Award will also be presented to two remarkable heritage achievements from European countries not taking part in the EU Creative Europe programme.

Category Conservation

  • Bo?aziçi University Gözlükule Excavation Research Center, Tarsus, TURKEY

Category Dedicated Service

  • Léonard Gianadda, Martigny, SWITZERLAND

This entry was posted in Sector NewsBlog. Bookmark the permalink.