IHBC Gus Astley Student Award: winners & seminar

The Institute of Historic Building Conservation (IHBC), the key professional body for built and historic environment conservation specialists, has announced the winners of its Annual Gus Astley Student Award for 2010, the major award of its type for the sector.

Trefor Thorpe, Cadw’s Chief Architect and an IHBC member, was the guest judge for the 2010 Award.  He said: “It’s been a  pleasure, and a privilege to deal with so much new talent. When I see what the economy is doing to the field of activity a great many of us have spent our careers trying to develop into an honourable profession, it’s gratifying to know that there is some real potential out there capable of picking up the baton.”

Jo Evans, IHBC Chair, said: “Our Student Award is crucially important for the IHBC, and for the heritage conservation industry as a whole.  It highlights the best of the diverse professions and career routes that underpin successful conservation – from engineering to history and from young students to established professionals modernising their skills.”

Bob Kindred MBE, IHBC Government Liaison Secretary, said on behalf of the Gus Astley Trustees: “It is heartening, at a challenging time for conservation education, that there are so many committed and talented graduates. This would have given Gus, in whose honour we make the award, great delight and satisfaction.”

The awards will be presented to the winners in at the IHBC’s Annual School 2011, in Llandudno in June See www.ihbc.org.uk/llandudno2011

The winners in the 2010 Gus Astley Student Award are as  follows:

Recipient of the IHBC Gus Astley Student Award  2010:
Andrew Beckett, of Oxford Brookes University, for his dissertation on Building Preservation Trusts (BPTs),described by the judge, Trefor Thorpe, as ‘a thoroughly engaging exposé of the BPT movement today and a cracking good read to boot!’.

Andrew will receive £300 & the offer of a place at the IHBC’s 2011 Annual School in Llandudno, in June.

Special Commendation with Distinction:
Anne  Brownley Raines of Edinburgh College of Art, for a case study of area conservation & regeneration in an industrialized German region, described by Trefor Thorpe as being ‘excellently researched and immaculately  presented… a superb study of the rise of conservation values tied to renewal  and regeneration in a heavily industrialized area.’

Anne will receive  £100 & the offer of a place at the IHBC’s 2011 Annual School.

Special Commendations:
Tom Hulme of the University  of Leicester, for a study of the conservation of Gay heritage in Manchester,  described by Trefor Thorpe as ‘an excellent and erudite insight into an  alternative view of ‘heritage’ and regeneration’, and;

Jayne Boldy of the University of Bath, for an analysis of local lists, a work described by  Trefor Throrpe as ‘a thorough and comprehensive study and analysis of a  relatively unappreciated aspect of heritage protection’.

Both Tom and Jayne will receive £50 & the offer of a place at the IHBC’s 2011 Annual  School.

The winning candidates are among some of the applicants invited to speak at the IHBC’s Awards seminar to take place at the Architectural Association in London on 4 March 2011.  Details will be posted on the IHBC’s website.

Notes for editors:
1. The IHBC’s Annual Student Award is inspired by the memory of Gus Astley, former Membership Secretary of the IHBC. See LINK Entrants simply submit relevant course work.
2. The submission date for 2011 Awards is 31 July 2011.
3. The IHBC’s Annual School is the key training and networking event in the annual calendar of the sector.  The 2011 School will take place in Llandudno, on 16-18 June.  See www.ihbc.org.uk/llandudno2011

Seán O’Reilly: (0131) 5583671; director@ihbc.org.uk

This entry was posted in Sector NewsBlog. Bookmark the permalink.