WMF Knoll Modernism prize: Nominations open to raise awareness of modern preservation successes – closing 15 June 

websiteWith the support of founding sponsor Knoll, World Monuments Fund(WMF) launched the World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize to raise awareness about modern preservation success stories, and nominations are now being accepted for outstanding and innovative design solutions that save modern icons, with a closing date of 15 June.

WMF writes:

Forward-thinking. Experimental. Bold. Progressive. Innovative. Once recognized for their defining characteristics, significant modernist sites around the world are victims of physical deterioration of materials, perceived obsolescence, and public apathy. These threats repeatedly result in inappropriate alterations or demolition. With many modern buildings too young to qualify for landmark designation and protection, the need for preservation is urgent.

Launched in 2008 with founding sponsor Knoll, WMF launched the biennial World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize to recognize the individuals and organizations that preserve our modern built heritage through innovative architectural or design solutions. At-risk modern buildings can and do remain sustainable structures with vital features; visionary architects, designers, planners, and community leaders play a paramount role in ensuring those features.

The prize is part of WMF’s broader programming to address the challenges faced by modern sites through advocacy, education, and conservation, which includes the World Monuments Watch and Modern Century. The prize stemmed from WMF’s Modernism at Risk initiative, created in 2006 in response to increasing threats to modern buildings, including neglect, perceived obsolescence, inappropriate alterations, and demolition.

The World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize recognizes heroic efforts made for the preservation of our modern heritage. Projects that enhanced a site’s architectural, functional, economic, and environmental sustainability while also benefiting the community are encouraged.

World Monuments Fund invites nominations for the 2018 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize, celebrating the tenth anniversary of the award. The prize will be awarded this fall to an architect, urban designer/planner, or other design professionals or firm, recognizing an innovative intervention that preserved and saved a threatened modern building or complex.

Nominated projects must have been completed in the last five years, and must have faced challenges or threats that affected the site before preservation (for example: deteriorated condition of original materials, obsolescence, abandonment, changes in use, ownership, economic or political conditions, etc.).

The deadline for nominations is June 15, 2018.

The Prize will include:

  • A cash honorarium of $10,000
  • A Knoll® Barcelona® chair
  • Round-trip airfare and hotel accommodations in New York City for the prize winner to attend the award ceremony

An independent jury of architectural scholars, conservators, and professionals in related fields will select the prize winner. The jury is chaired by Barry Bergdoll, Meyer Schapiro Professor of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University and Curator of Architecture and Design at the Museum of Modern Art.

The prize winner as well as a selection of honorable mentions will be announced fall 2018. The award ceremony will be held at the The Museum of Modern Art on December 4, 2018. If you have any questions regarding the nomination process or a site’s eligibility, email modernism2018@wmf.org.

Read more….

This entry was posted in Sector NewsBlog. Bookmark the permalink.