Applications open for 2019 Churchill Fellowships, including ‘Rural living’ and ‘… conservation & sustainable living’ – closing 18/09 

WCMT websiteThe Winston Churchill Memorial Trust (WCMT) is now open to Churchill Fellowship applications for travel in 2019, with three new award categories (including Rural living) among the 12 on offer – including Environment, conservation & sustainable living – and with the deadline for applications of 18 September 2018.

WCMT writes:

You can apply for a Fellowship in these categories:

  • Artists & makers
  • Education
  • Enterprise: supporting social impact
  • Environment, conservation & sustainable living
  • Healthcare: innovations for the twenty-first century
  • Migration: living well together
  • Nursing & Allied Health Professions
  • Science, technology & engineering
  • Young people’s awards
  • Open category: for projects beyond this range

The three new categories are:

  • Emergency services
  • Rural living
  • Suicide prevention

Emergency services: crisis prevention, response and recovery
These awards have been launched in response to the recent spate of emergency incidents, whether terrorist events, natural disasters or mass casualty events such as the Grenfell fire. We are seeking applications that encourage new thinking at operational, tactical or strategic levels. We welcome applicants from the emergency services and the organisations that work alongside them. Julia Weston, WCMT Chief Executive said:

‘Incidents like the Grenfell fire and the Manchester Arena shooting have put our emergency services under increasing pressure, both professionally and personally. We’re looking for people at all levels of the emergency services who are inspired to seek new ideas’ – Julia Weston, WCMT Chief Executive

Rural living: strengthening countryside communities.
These awards have been launched in response to the growing pressures on rural communities, in a period of change that includes the challenges brought by Brexit. We are seeking applications that explore multidisciplinary approaches in rural communities, for example to invigorate transport networks, reimagine housing, employment and enterprise, or improve access to education, culture and healthcare.

Julia Weston said: ‘In March the House of Lords select committee on rural communities reported that some of the worst spots for deprivation and intergenerational poverty are in the countryside. We’re looking for new ideas that can help to tackle that.’  This category is in partnership with The Prince’s Countryside Fund…

Churchill Fellowships are a life-changing opportunity for UK citizens to research innovations worldwide and make change happen when they return. Churchill Fellows are fully funded to research new ideas and best practice overseas for 4-8 weeks, in topics and countries of their own choice. Everyone can apply, regardless of age, background or qualifications, so long as they are a UK citizen aged 18 or over.

See the full list of award categories

This entry was posted in Sector NewsBlog. Bookmark the permalink.